Kindergarten Assessment: Quick & Easy

I recently shared an assessment template with my PLN on Twitter. I’ve had lots of requests to have the template sent to other teachers, as well as a few questions about how it works.
I give full credit to my good friend and coworker @mllekmn who shared with me this is how she does some assessment in her 4/5 combined class.

Here is what the template looks like. This specific template is to assess which students know what about patterns in math. The subject, unit, and outcomes are at the top of the page. This specific outcome is about identifying, reproducing, continuing, and creating a pattern. In each box there is the student’s name and then 4 bullets. Each bullet is a part of the outcome (identifying, reproducing, continuing and creating). Knocking it down to one word really simplified the look of this document, which I love.

I had a finger paint centre happening in the classroom. The students were asked to create patterns for me. This would allow me to understand where my students were at the start of our unit, before we went into any specific patterning activities.

20140312-210940.jpg

20140312-211413.jpg

After student work had dried, I quickly went through the finished products and checked off who would create a pattern.

20140312-211506.jpg

It is clear this student above can create their own pattern. I found their name on my document, checked the bulletin off, and then stamped the date next to that bullet to let me know when that student had achieved that specific section of the outcome.

To take it a bit further, I wanted to be able to refer back to this document and know what student mastered which outcome with which activity. I flipped my document over, and quickly scribbled down the activity they did that showed me they achieved that outcome. I stamped the date next to my scribble writing so that there was correlation between the front of the page and the back of the page.

20140312-211729.jpg

When this math unit is completed, I hope to have many checks on the front, many dates stamped on the front, and many scribbled boxed off activities on the back.
With all the student work nice and dry, I added page protectors and cardstock to a duo tang to create a class book of examples of patterns they created.

20140312-211859.jpg

I also threw a sticky note on the front so we could tell which book belonged to the AM class and which book belonged to the PM class.

If you would like me to send you the template, DM me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

