Documenting in K: Using “MaxJournal” App

MaxJournal is one of the greatest apps I use on a daily basis. It really kicks the standard “Notes” app in the behind, working great for me for staff meetings, conferences, and classroom life.

MaxJournal lets you have different journals which is great for my obsessive need to organize.

Right now I have a few journals on the go:

The ones I use the most in the classroom are
  • Documentation: for class discussions and student quotes during the process of an activity and the final reflection of an activity.
  • Speech: to document speech difficulties for certain students and what activities we did during the day to work with a group of students, as well as examples of difficulties to show the speech therapist when she comes in.
  • OT: same thing as for speech.
Speed is of the utmost importance in any early childhood classroom, and I really like how MaxJournal boots up quickly. It automatically brings you to the correct date, you tap of the page, and type away.
While the students are speaking, indidivudally or as a group, I type what they say. Yes, you have to be quick at typing. One good thing is that while I am typing, it forces me, as a teacher, to just BE QUIET for a while and let the students express their thoughts and ideas without me interrupting, not giving them enough wait time, or asking another question.
(I had to blur the names out. Sorry!)
Another advantage about MaxJournal is that it allows you to tag posts. When I am documenting in my Speech and OT journals, I tag the students I was working with. When the therapists come in and ask about a student, I can search the history of the entire journal for that students. During meetings, I am prepared, efficient, and know what I’m talking about with 50 students!
The tags appear on the right hand side, which again, I had to blur out. You can also add photos!
When you touch the magnifying glass, you can type in the student’s name to bring up all their entries.
To print out documentation to make it visible in the classroom, I highlight it all and email it to myself. Then I can use only the sections I need and want to make my documentation.
Try it out in your classroom – you’ll LOVE it.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberley Moran
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 21:54:48

    Do you type in iPad or your computer? I think I need a keyboard for my iPad. Thanks for the new app idea!

    Reply

  2. mrssilkycactus
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 00:05:13

    I type on my iPad but I know other teachers who prefer using Apple’s wireless keyboard. For me in kindergarten, it’s just one more thing to lug around the classroom…

    Reply

  3. celfrairot
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 11:35:13

    Hello , what the name of this app ? Or link if it’s possible
    Thank you
    Céline

    Reply

Leave a Reply

