Provocations: Baby Steps

I’ve been using the centre table in my classroom as an experiment in the area of “provocations” for my students. From my understanding, a provocation is supposed to entice the students to explore a certain subject in their own way.

My reasoning for changing the centre table the way I did was two fold: 1) our social studies curriculum focuses on a unit called “I Am Unique” and 2) being able to draw a selt-portrait is an important achievement in kindergarten. I thought it would be great to have an area where the students could move pieces around a lot without worrying about being “wrong”. I printed out two 11×17 pictures of a body and taped them to the table. I set out some white rocks, red rocks, paper flowers, googly eyes, string, and some scissors with some paper (thinking the studens might want to make clothes for the people).

For two full days, I sat with two students at a time at the centre table and documented their movements, choices, and quotes using Pages on my iPad. In the next few days I will be making one with each of the students on an 8.5×11 cardstock sheet and they will be able to glue the items down.

Extending on the “I Am Unique” section of our curriculum, I bought some mirrors from Wal-Mart to put at the art station so the students can draw themselves.

It looked so beautiful with the sun streaming in today (not so beautiful were my gross fingerprints on the mirror…)

I then decided to put the numbers 1-10 framed in the centre table (after we were done having fun with those silly people!) in hopes of having some students want to come practice some numbers.

This is the first year I feel I’ve had enough SPACE in the classroom to actually change things and set up decent provocations so…baby steps.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 19:00:25

    Just wanted to let you know that I am really enjoying reading your blog! I am also starting down the road of becoming more reggio-inspired in my classroom and seeing what you do in your room is helping me to make changes as well πŸ™‚ If you have time, I would love to hear more about how a day in your classroom is structured – as that is something I am always struggling with.
    Thank you again for sharing πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. mrssilkycactus
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 21:54:15

    Thanks so much Sarah! I’m glad you took the time to comment – sometimes I feel like I’m writing to no one, hehe.
    A blog post I want to do soon will be about how I structure the day. Or should I say UNSTRUCTURE my day…. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 00:50:37

    Great to hear! I am also trying to unstructure my day πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

